The Messages app gets some slick upgrades with iOS 16. One of the headlining features is the ability to edit iMessages on iPhone after sending them. Read on for a hands-on look at how the feature works as well as its limitations.
Apple’s Messages app has received a number of new features with iOS 16. Three major ones are the option to edit iMessages, completely unsend iMessages, and mark text messages as unread.
First, you’ve probably sent a message with a typo before. It’s very easy to do—especially with Apple’s autocorrect. Starting in iOS 16, you can now edit those mistakes away.
Below we’ll cover how it works to edit iMessages on iPhone. We’ve also got a dedicated guide on how the unsend iMessage feature works:
How To Edit Messages In iOS 16
- Running iOS 16 on iPhone, open the Messages app
- Find the conversation and message you want to edit
- Long-press on the message
- Choose Edit
- Make your changes and tap the blue checkmark icon
- Edit iMessage and the unsend features work up to 15 minutes after sending
Will You Be Notified If Someone Edit iMessage on iPhone?
If the ability to edit or unsend messages feels a little red-flag-y for you — cue “Toxic” by Britney Spears — rest assured that your conversation stream will note when a text has been edited or recalled. While you won’t be able to tell what exactly was in the chaotic missive your BFF decided against sending, there will be a virtual paper trail.
Interestingly, when using the unsend iMessage feature in iOS 16, Apple gives a warning that people on older iOS versions will still see the message.
While there’s no similar warning for using the edit feature, the same applies. If you make an edit on a text you sent to someone who is on iOS 15 or earlier, they won’t see the edit, just the original message.
The other limitation as noted above is that you can only edit iMessages up to 15 minutes after sending. However, you can edit a message multiple times if needed.